Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
snappyguy

Urea in fertilizer ok for chinese elm?

snappyguy
13 years ago

Hello,

I'm new to bonsai and have 1 tree, a chinese elm. I have read that it should be fertilized during the spring and summer with a high nitrogen fertilizer. Most of my plants are african violets and orchids, which require a urea-free fertilizer. Is urea ok for use on bonsai? I have some slow-release pellets that I use on the garden. Are these ok or should I use one of my water soluble urea-free ferts?

Thanks,

Mark

Comments (10)

• larke
    13 years ago

It's ok, but you don't really need 'high' nitrogen fertilizer, just a fairly well balanced one for house plants.

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    13 years ago

Soluble fertilizers like Miracle-Gro, Peters, and many others use urea as their N source and are widely used by bonsai enthusiasts. I am quite happy using Dyna-Gro's Foliage-Pro 9-3-6 because it has all 12 essential nutrients in as close to the same NPK RATIO that plants use, and all the nutrients are present in a favorable ratio to each other. This is important from the perspective that it allows you to fertilize at the lowest rate possible and still not have nutritional deficiencies. By happenstance, the FP 9-3-6 is also urea-free.

I may be getting deeper into fertilizing that you wish, so I'll offer a couple of additional thoughts & you can let me know if you want me to expand.