Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sudeva

Black locust bonsai: from seedling? from root?

sudeva
14 years ago

Hi, all. I'm a bit new to bonsai, so bear with me. I've read books but had not planned to make my first attempt at cultivation until maybe this spring or next spring. I may have to dive in, though, because I'd previously seen black locust turned into beautiful larger size bonsai, and I happened--while gardening this morning--to come across a number of young specimens. I also came across a fascinating bit of black locust root that was pretty much independent of the nearest tree. Is it worth trying anything with the root? Seems potentially more aesthetically rewarding but also more difficult to cultivate. I'm not sure where I would start cutting; the horizontal element seems like it'd require some serious curtailment with an eye toward future nebari shape, but maybe I should just try to keep the whole thing as alive and healthy as I can for now. (The vertical element was almost, but not quite, breaking the surface of the soil when I found it.) I really have no clue--haven't been able to find much information on cultivation of this species. Advice would be much appreciated.

{{gwi:7581}}
{{gwi:7582}}
{{gwi:7583}}
{{gwi:7584}}

Comments (10)

• omniphasic
    14 years ago

These trees grow so quickly that I actually doubt you'll be very successful Bonsaing it.It sounds interesting but I've been studying this art form for a long time and have yet to see a mature one.Members of the pea family are notoriously difficult to bonsai well....Good luck with it!

• dshepard
    14 years ago