Return to the Bonsai Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Wisteria bonsai?

Posted by Auron22 6b (My Page) on
Thu, Apr 4, 13 at 18:13

I started Wisteria floribunda from seed about 2 1/2 years ago in late summer. 2 Survived and are still potted. I just recently took a look at the root system and it is fascinating. I joined the two together in a single pot hoping they inosculate. It is a bit overpotted. I guess this can be considered "pre bonsai" stage? I thought about just putting it in the ground last year, but now i'm more interested in keeping it potted. Is a wisteria bonsai feasible? I'm very interested in raising it in the future to show off it's intense roots. Not going to try any complex shaping, probably just going to make it look like a "grand tree", but miniature. Large trunk, lots of branches. Any suggestions as to how wisteria should be shaped if it can even become bonsai? I have never done any bonsai before and thought it would be a fun project.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Wisteria bonsai?

Auron,

Wisteria absolutely can be grown as bonsai (google image search "wisteria bonsai"). They are trained to show off the blooms. The rest of the year, they look terrible because they must be allowed to grow out and then be pruned successively. I'm still working out the pruning technique on my older Am. wisteria.

One difficulty is that when grown in a pot, they do not develop thick trunks. Specimen examples tend to be collected. not grown from seed or cuttings. They like being a bit rootbound in a taller pot (not a typical shallow bonsai pot) and have lots of water when growing (wet feet is OK).

o

Thanks tinyfrogs,