Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joanneglk

Dying Satsuki azalea needed help fast!

joanneglk
17 years ago

Hi All,

I am new to bonsai art. 2 months ago I was given a satsuki azalea bonsai. Since it was still snowing occasionally during Feb, I placed it both indoor and outdoor depending on the weather. I water and mist the plant once a day and it also sits on a tray with pebbles and water.

I realize that the bonsai is not doing well day after day even with care. The leaves are very dried and started to turn brown/black. They are also very brittle. The leaves fall off the branches even with a light touch and some branches fall off as well. Recently, I spotted some little bugs (some white, some black) on the soil surface, bottom of pot and on the tray. So I washed the tray really well, and water the plant with water mixed with soap, hopefully to get rid of the bugs. Now, come to think of it, I am worried that the soapy water can actually kill the plant.

I desperately needed some opinions to save my bonsai. I really want to keep it because it means A LOT to me.

Thanks.

Comments (3)

• lucy
    17 years ago