Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
batu_chinua

Can I bonsai a weeping cherry tree?

batu_chinua
13 years ago

I am still new to the bonsai art and I recenty bought a weeping cherry tree to bonsai... Can this be done or am I wasting my time trying? The tree is about 3-4' and I was thinking of cutting it back to about a foot. Any ideas?

Comments (8)

• gardener_guy
    13 years ago

Hi,

You have a good plane in mind it seems. But I will say this. A weeping cherry is usually a grafted tree. I bet (without seeing the tree) it has a tall straight trunk with the weeping branches at the top. Am I correct? If this is true, you will see a bulge in the trunk directly under the weeping branches with a diagonal line or scar. This part is a graft. The weeping branches were grown onto a straight cherry trunk. If you cut this part off so that the tree is smaller, it will no longer be a weeping cherry. I am sorry but this tree was created for the landscape and not a bonsai container. But here is good news. If you still want to bonsai this tree I would cut off the graft and leave a two foot trunk. Water it a lot and it will back-bud on the trunk. After a year or so the tree will have great branches to wire. It should be a very strong tree because the root stock for grafted weeping cherries needs to be very hardy to keep good vigor. After this has been done and branches have grown, you can easily create a weeping cherry bonsai. It is your creativity at work that will create great bonsai. Wire the branches into a downward weeping habit. That is all. It should be a fun project for you. I wish you the best of luck.

Gardener Guy

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    13 years ago