Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lauren_g_gw

Chinese elm probs...sort of an unwanted gift...

lauren.g
16 years ago

For Christmas, my very sweet, but clueless boyfriend bought me a beautiful Chinese elm. While the idea was very nice, I privately knew that I was not ready to handle such a challenge in the plant/tree department. After all, I'm new to houseplants in general...

Anyway, I didn't want to hurt his feelings so I have been caring for it to the best of my abilities. After bringing it home in Decemeber, it lost all the leaves and I moved it to the coldest room in our apartment to rest for the winter.

Since Spring, I moved it into a sunnier location until it was warm enough to put it on our balcony. I also fertilized it one time so far.

What I have noticed:

- the soil takes forever to dry out (I am not watering often AT all)

-the leaves are starting to come in, but slowly and some are drying up and falling off

The tree has pebbles on top of the soil and I always wondered if that was a problem as well the little moss pile on it. They came with the tree as a decorative feature I suppose. Should they be removed so I can get a better look at the soil?

HELP please. Many thanks in advance for your advice.

~Lauren

Comments (8)

• lucy
    16 years ago