Return to the Bonsai Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Passion vine (passiflora) can it be done?

Posted by atheris_squamigera (My Page) on
Thu, May 10, 07 at 13:47

I have noticed that my passion vines are quite woody, can I bonsai one? I am new to the art of bonsai, but I have read a lot and it seems possible. I think it would be a great project.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Passion vine (passiflora) can it be done?

The only 'passionflower' I have grown is the native Maypop (Pasiflora incarnata), and that is in a bed in my yard, not a pot. Here in Georgia it is a wild plant that dies to the ground in winter, so it would not make a good subject for outdoor bonsai. I haven't tried overwintering any indoors, because, by October they are about 20 feet tall and all knotted together. Also it's leaves are about the size of your hand - too big for an easy bonsai.

Which cultivar were you thinking of trying? If the stem gets woody, and the leaves aren't too big, I'd say give it a try.

On second thought, heck...try anyway...you may wind up with something unexpectedly attractive, even if it doesn't fit the standard definition of 'Bonsai' (The Atlanta Botanical Garden has some gorgeous red passionflower (P. coccinea?)vines in their display)

o

yeah, I was thinking incense passion flower indoors, the leaves are big but I was thinking more long-term. It would be a breathtaking plant if I could train it for years into a large bonsai. But there are so many varities of passiflora that I am not familiar with all of them. There may be some with smaller leaves. The flowers of the incense just astound me, but I may settle for some smaller-leaved one with less attractive flowers.

o