Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
the_fire

Bonsai training: Weights instead of Wire?

the_fire
16 years ago

Total bonsai Newbie here.....

After having bought a couple of commercial bonsais, I bought an untrained Japanese Red Maple (and promptly nicknamed it "Horatio") from a local garden center.

However after wiring the branches to get the more "to the sides" style from the Soju or Sokan (I've got a multiple stem thing here), it looks more like a Terminator than a tree so I was wondering: Is it possible to use something to weigh down the branches and still get the correct "training" or is wires a "must"?

And no, I'm not going to use christmas ornaments...;)

Comments (5)

• funkymiaow
    16 years ago

Greeting to you and Horatio (from CSI?)
    i had a very young Juniper that I wanted to shape quite early, and to start, I used a few big wooden beads (like little girls do to make bracelets and stuff) and it worked. However I prefer wire, because u can twist the branch the way u want to.
    I dont know how how young/old your tress is so you might have to find something heavier, cos I'm sure Christmas balls will be too light....
    Good luck
    :)

• scenter
    16 years ago

Konnichiwa Hi-san to momiji Horeichio
    (Japanese for hello Mr/Ms Fire and Horatio-the-maple)
    (FWIW it is pronounced: koh-nee-chee-wah hee-sahn toh moh-mee-jee hoh-ray-chee-oh)

If Horatio is one tree - then your style is Sokan - twin trunk style (the smallest possible multiple trunk style). Soju is the style where two separate trees are trained together (a mini-clump so to speak). If they fuse over time, then it could be considered a Sokan.

I have seen all sorts of ingenious devices used to train branches - fishing weights, bread twistems and a bamboo pole, twine in a guy wire fashion, clamps etc. Use your imagination, but be cautious about damaging bark and cutting off the sap flow when placing and removing these devices.

• bonsaikc
    16 years ago