Return to the Bonsai Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bosai ....Torrey Pine??

Posted by pamstar z 10 Ca (My Page) on
Mon, May 12, 08 at 17:31

I am a total novice when it comes to bonsai. I have always wanted to grow one tho. I just recieved a very small Torrey pine (3")from a friend that was found growing under the mother tree. Would this make a good specimen for a bonsai? It has only been uprooted form it's home and in a pot for 3 or 4 days before it was given to me.
Thank you for your help.
Sincerely Pam

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bosai ....Torrey Pine??

Hi - I think it'll make a terrific bonsai if taken care of properly. Your question is the wrong one (sorry), because chances of its living may be remote. The right question is how to take care of it now - it's not a house plant, shouldn't be in a pot and probably should have been left where it was for a couple of years at least. Can you replace it where it was found, or at least under another pine in a simlar situation? Pines are not easy even in the right circumstances, and you haven't had excellent hands-on advice about what to do already, let us know.

o

How much root does it have, and how big of a pot?

Josh

o

To answer your questions ...No Lucy I cannot replace it where it was found. If it makes you feel any better there were 2 seedlings close togeather so he took one, this person lives in a much more inland area than me so the chances of survival were pretty dismal, so thats why he gave it to me :)... I do have a huge Norfolk Island pine in my front yard which I can place it under for similar growing conditions Great idea!. I was worried about the soil the person who gave it to me used to pot it up I really don't want to disturb it again, so I will add some regular good dirt to the pot, and mix it into whats there.I did give it a shot of B-1 to help with the transplant shock.