Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
keesiewonder

What Is Loam?

keesiewonder
18 years ago

I'm new to bonsai and content to mix my own soil medium. The book I have mentions 3 core components: loam, sphagnum peat moss, granite grit.

What is loam? No-one seems to sell something packaged and called loam. I have studied the products available at www.dallasbonsai.com. What, if any, of their products would you say is loam?

Somewhere on the Internet I saw loam described as approximately equal parts of sand, silt and clay. Elsewhere said I'm hoping once I understand bonsai soil components I can buy them at my local nursery ... but I'm willing to buy on-line if you can point me in the right direction.

Thanks!

Susan

Comments (8)

• Welby_M_D
    18 years ago

Topsoil

• rjj1
    18 years ago

Technically IÂm unsure that loam is just topsoil, but the dear doctor might be right. Topsoil is usually defined as the top few inches of soil that most crops are grown in. Loam is usually measured in feet.

I live on Norge silt loam. ItÂs defined as a surface layer of brown silt loam about ½" thick. The subsoil is reddish brown silty clay loam to a depth of about 36", red silty loam to a depth of about 58", and red silty clay to a depth of 84". I bore you with this verbiage from my Soil Survey manual to show the varying degrees of loam you find as you go straight down.

In the county where I live the USDA Soil Conservation Service lists 98 different soils. They are different based on elevation, grade of slope, vegetation, and the amount and percentage of cay, silt, or sand loam and each one of those soils change as you dig down.

Having said all of that, I donÂt use loam, have never used loam, and will never use loam. I prefer a large percentage of high fired clay particles called haydite mixed with a fine pine bark soil conditioner with a little 702 Metro Mix thrown in just to say I threw it in.

Most people I know prefer a soil-less fast draining mix.