Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beckerster

General bonsai rules same for jade tree?

beckerster
17 years ago

i'm a newbie and i plan on "practicing" on some jade trees. i've heard that they are hardy, and i allready have some on hand (and getting ready to buy a house doesnt leave much extra money to mess with). and oh course, the bonsai book i pick up doesnt have anything about jade trees! dunno how i did that *rolls eyes at herself* . is there anything different about jade trees, or are gereral bonsai rules applicable to them?

oh, PS, being that i live in michigan (zone 6 i beleive) and jade's a succulent, would it be better kept outside or inside?

Comments (28)

• lucy
    17 years ago

Whew! First, 'hardy' in plant speak means able to weather winter, below freezing temps, and needing months of it for proper dormancy to renew for spring growth. Jades are tropical, and therefore not hardy at all (certainly not in MI, where they need to be grown indoors except in summer, though can take a lot of punishment compared to some others. Second, what you mean by bonsai 'rules' and what I (or others) might mean is debatable - I don't know if you're referring to horticultural aspects, or styling, or what. But as jades are not traditional bonsai subjects and do grow differently from e.g. maples or pines, the answer is yes and no. Want to clarify your Q. a bit?

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    17 years ago

More common than jade is a plant with the common name mini-jade - Portulacaria afra, aka elephant bush, elephant food, or spekboom. It is a pretty durable (hardy?) plant that will most enjoy summer vacations outdoors in full sun and winters in a very bright & cozy warm place if you have one. I have tried different soils and have found that pure Turface yields the healthiest plants for me. I feed with a balanced blend (20-20-20) soluble fertilizer.