Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lpenguin

Red Japanese Maple Seedlings Turning Green?

lpenguin
17 years ago

I have a Red Japanese Maple seedling that I'm growing as a bonsai, but the red leaves are turning green. This happened last year with another Japanese Maple seedling before it died. I can't seem to figure out why this is happening. Any suggestions? Thanks!

Comments (16)

• lucy
    17 years ago

You haven't described any of the conditions under which it is living, or how you're taking care of it, and it's hard to advise without knowing those.

• lpenguin
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Sorry! I'm pretty new to this. It's in a peat moss soil mixture, about 1" deep, indoors in partial sunlight, and I water it thoroughly whenever the soil is dry. It's a seedling I found growing in my yard and repotted in a container.

• rjj1
    17 years ago

You will kill the maple treating it as a houseplant. It's an outdoor tree period.

A seedling in a 1 inch deep pot will never develop into anything of value even if you could keep it alive indoors.

Bonsai is not sticking twigs in bonsai pots, it's taking established plants with potential and developing them over time to grow in shallow containers. It would do much better in a deep container outdoors in shade for the time being.

Since you don't mention where you live any more advice than this won't be of much help.

Good luck.

randy

• lucy
    17 years ago

Peat moss is not good for maples - they like sandy, gritty, very fast draining stuff, and watering when the top is dry is way too often. And rij1, could you try to be a little less arrogant and a little more helpful - did you spring into bonsai a full fledged expert with no help from anyone? Geez!

• rjj1
    17 years ago

I love you too Lucy :-).