Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ssadams7700

Natural / Bonsai soil?

ssadams7700
13 years ago

I am new to bonsai... I have land in upper WI and would like to make a bonsai with some trees I have. There is a swamp with ceder trees that will use. Do I mimic the soil in the swamp or do I use something else (Bonsai soil). I am confused about the soils for bonsai trees. What is the relationship between the natural soil and bonsai soil? Won't a tree die if its not in its natural soil? The book I have talks about the how to make a tree look like a bonsai but not soil chemistry. It seems that bonsai soil would not hold the water necessary for a tree like this. How does it all work, I am sure its not that simple. Hope you guys can simplify this for me...

thanks, S

PS looking for a GOOD book...

Comments (10)

• larke
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi, you're correct about bonsai soil not holding water - that's the intention because if it weren't, the tree's roots would be sitting in water for too long and rot (in a pot). The point is to give the tree a drink, to bring a little oxygen into the mix, to hold just a little moisture for a relatively short time, and then need another drink in however many days or weeks (i.e. some species, and more over winter) is necessary. Watering bonsai is an art in itself, and it can take quite some time to get the hang of it so that you don't end up drowning the tree, a newbie problem for almost everyone who thinks they must baby the "little" tree and treat it like a house plant. Each species is different, of course, plus the season, temperature, available hours of light, soil mix, etc. will all make a difference to when you water or not, so you need to be familiar with the current needs of each tree as you go. It takes time, but is also rewarding.