Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sfhellwig

When in summer to repot mugo?

sfhellwig
14 years ago

I have a small mugo bought from the garden center this spring. I only removed the very bottom branches to expose a little of the trunk and put it into a deep grow box. Essentially a slip pot to give it room until I could repot this summer. I want to let it grow and practice bud selection so I will not remove much of the roots but I do want to put into a slightly shallower grow box. Everything says in summer and one resource says July or August. Is there anything more specific to look for? It appears that buds are beginning to form at the branch tips. This is my first year watching this plant so I am unfamiliar with what it will be doing over the next two months.

Comments (7)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    14 years ago

Howdy!
    I have a mugo pine in the ground, which I transplanted in late winter / early spring.
    I don't really know the answer to your question, since I've always assumed it best
    to do root-work / re-potting of conifers in spring (before budbreak) or in autumn (after
    the first rains have begun to fall).

However, when I did a search on "mugo pine" and "mugo pine repot," I read that mugo pines
    prefer to be "worked on" (foliage, at least) from the middle of June, on through summer.

I hope someone chimes in with more specific advice!

Josh

• head_cutter
    14 years ago

It doesn't sound like you're doing anything too drastic so about anytime in summer shouldn't be a problem. I did most of my repotting of everything beginning in the spring, that way most didn't need any special care during a few weeks of recovery.

I did avoid doing much from about mid July to the end of August due to heat.

Bob

• sfhellwig
    Original Author
    14 years ago