Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
divaelpasotx

New to Bonsai - Baja Fairy Duster? Mimosa?

divaelpasotx
15 years ago

I just planted Calliandra Californica/Fairy Duster on the 25th of May after soaking them overnight. I now have three 1 1/2 inch plants w/"true" leaves. I'm a patio/container gardener I would like to use the Bonsai "technique" on them especially since they are growing so fast.

I planted Mimosa seeds today (after soaking them in very hot water 20 minutes).

The "parent" Mimosa tree is from the neighborhood and is at least 10 ft. tall. Would it be possible to successfully "containerize" and bonsai these?

Comments (4)

• redneck_grower
    15 years ago

Mimosa can refer to a couple of different plants. Is it Albizia julibrissen you have? I have experience with this tree. I have no experience with Calliandra.

I grow Albizia in containers. It grows fast, and needs top and root pruning to keep it containerized. The compound leaves are quite large, and reportedly do not reduce very well, making it unsuitable for small bonsai. I have seen some nice Albizia bonsai, though, so it can be done.

What you need to understand before you begin bonsai; small-trunked bonsai do not become thick-trunked bonsai. Before you can start to train your tree as a bonsai, you need to have the thick trunk first. So, you will need to grow your tree in the ground (for fastest growth) or in a container (slower growth) in order to develop a thick trunk. Only then will you begin training. Developing the thick trunk will take some years.

This quote from bonsai4me.com: "A common misconception amongst newcomers to the art of bonsai is that trees (bonsai) with large, thick trunks must have had decades of training to become the size they are and that a thin-trunked seedling will one day acquire a thick mature trunk even though it is planted in a bonsai pot.