Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ytnok

Red Japanese Maple

ytnok
16 years ago

My wife just bought me a red Japanese Maple, about 9 inches tall in a banzai pot. It was very healthy when I got it and it still looks healthy although it is showing brown spots on the leaves and a couple are turning toward a shade of green.

I've never done this before and have idea on watering or light. It's on my kitchen table next to a large window getting a full day of indirect light. I water when it starts to feel dry.

Any ideas?

Comments (5)

• lucy
    16 years ago

Yup, a few. Maple trees belong outdoors for life and will die quickly indoors (it's about more than just wattage of light and water) - it's not optional. Indirect light won't do it either, though when you put it outside now, start off in light shade (and in fact, Japanese maple can stay there just as happily as other trees are in full sun), and water only when 1/4 to 1/3 of the mix is dry. However... you will mostly have a stick in a pot for a long, long time unless you treat it like a real bonsai (not banzai!) in training, and that means get it out of the pot, into the ground (a gritty-ish location is better than a rich loamy one made for roses) and water well for this summer, though within reason (that's about frequency, not amount). Let it grow for a couple of years, then you'll be able to chop it right back, watch new smaller branches and foliage grow out and begin training it for shape, etc. Your best bet for more learning is a local bonsai club, and lots of reading.

• ytnok
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks, that actually makes it easier since I really want an outdoor Jap Red Maple. It looks good right now while we're selling the house so when we move at the end of the summer I'll transplant it at my new location.

• lucy
    16 years ago

It may not wait that long, and you're cheating it of all the goodies it needs in summer to survive the winter. Get another plant to help sell the house!