Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jbonsai

Raising a Juniper Indoors

jbonsai
17 years ago

I just got a Juniper bonsai for a gift, so I'm kind of new at this and I was wondering how to raise my Juniper bonsai indoors or if there are some tips on raising it would help me out a lot.

Comments (19)

• lucy
    17 years ago

Tips - Keep it outdoors for life, or get it ready for a short life. It will not thrive or survive for long inside, even if it seems to be doing ok at the moment (spring makes everything look easy!). Don't water til more of the soil than less is dry. DO change the soil for coarse loam plus lots of small unpainted aquarium gravel (2/3 of the mix) and don't put pebbles on the bottom. Do locate it in the sun, but prop a white tile against the pot's sunny side to keep roots from cooking. Do find a local bonsai club to join and see how things are actually done. Do read lots of books on bonsai. If there's a layer of pebbles glued to the surface, pry it off yesterday and discard. Don't water by immersion, just from above and do it well.

• botanical_bill
    17 years ago

Any of the ficus grow good indoor, but grow better out door unless its below 50 or so out side. Your in Texas, you most likly have AC running indoor all the time. This will drop your indoor humidity very low, bad for most plants. Do some research and find what plants will thrive with low humidity, low light and what ever temp your house is. I live in Florida, all my plants are either on the lani (indirect light, high humidity) or on the front porch (direct sun, high humidity). We will bring in an orchid while its flowering for the smell or while guests are over, then its back out side.
    Do you live on the coast in Texas where the out door humidity is high or in land where its much lower?

• bonsai_audge
    17 years ago