Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
adam_harbeck

Port Wine Magnolia

Adam Harbeck
15 years ago

Has anybody tried to grow the Port Wine Magnolia (Michelia figo) as a bonsai specimen?

Adam

Comments (8)

• lucy
    15 years ago

Guess not... good luck.

• ankraras
    15 years ago

I am a hobbyist who is currently trying two. They are wee bitty still!

It's such a very happy plant, so pretty, they have been growing with vitality and are undemanding.

{{gwi:7760}}

• Adam Harbeck
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Ankraras, how are you growing yours? Did you root prune before planting/wiring? Would you reccomend a larger/deeper pot to start out?

Michelias are one of my favourite plants. I have 4 growing in large tubs but thought it might be interesting to try as a bonsai. I read that they hate root disturbance. I'll have to look out for a young one to start with.

Adam

• ankraras
    15 years ago

Hi;- I started mine from cuttings planted in 4" square containers. I did nothing when transplanting them into 6" containers after they took root and appeared to be satisfactorily growing. When I transplanted them into the present container, shown in the pics, I did trim off the largest/longest roots. They didn't show any signs of suffering from this that I could notice. I do have a few 7 gallon plastic containers on hand that I intend to transplant them into next year.

As far as wiring goes, they have been recently wired due to those branches that were just headed straight for the friendly sky. lol. At the same time I took the opportunity to add a little bit of movement to that stick trunk. I think this type of tree should have a feminist appearance but that is just my own personal opinion of course.