Return to the Bonsai Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
purchasing or collecting materials

Posted by countrykitty (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 4, 07 at 9:51

I'm just curious to know where everyone else gets their materials.

I live on 14 acres, 10 of which is wooded. There are 3 kinds of native stone, 5 or 6 kinds of moss, driftwood in the creek and branches in the woods. LOADS of trees shrubs of all kinds. I also have permission from a neigbor to gather from his 50 or 60 acres, including powdery aged manure from his barn for adding to my watering bucket :D.

In such a rural area tho' I can't find local sources for bonsai pots and the more traditional bonsai plants, not to mention that there's not likely to be a bonsai show or display within 2 hours of my house. (I'm a student so finances are limited.)

It's a trade off that I'm comfortable with...by making do with what I have (houseplants, found materials, unusual pottery picked up second-hand) my creations are likely to be unique.

What's everyone else doing?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: purchasing or collecting materials

Hi again.. go look at www.bonsaimonk.com for a large variety of inexpensive and very strong pots - they're a resin/composite of some kind, soft darkish brown, and indestructible in all weather, as well as looking like unglazed ceramic, but costing a lot less. They also have tools. As far as 'outdoor' trees go, try www.evergreengardens.com for absolutely reliable stuff (and do read all their articles, because Brent Walston who owns the nursery has a terrific rep as a grower, teacher and seller. Also look at Dallas Bonsai Gdns for more 'things', www.bonsaihunk.us/cultural.html for the best info on indoor trees and there are loads of places selling trees and seeds online (but I suggest not looking at Bonsaiboy in NY as you can do better.

o

I like bonsaimonk.com too. Huge selection, fast delivery.

o