Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alenka_gw

begonia richardsiana

alenka
15 years ago

Is anyone here growing begonia richardsiana (or a similar begonia) as a bonsai? Any tips on how and when to prune it? I've never tried growing anything as a bonsai before, so I'll appreciate any tips you could give!

I'l also thinking about propagating my plant -- is there any difference between pants started from seed and plants started from cuttings? I read about a different type of plant, that cutting-grown plants don't develop a well-shaped caudex -- is there anything like that with caudex-forming begonias?

Thank you!

Comments (4)

• lucy
    15 years ago

Well, I've never come across a begonia bonsai, but if the trunk eventually gets woody, and the variety has small leaves, I suppose anything's possible. Bonsai are really about 'real' trees, ones that hold their branches over years and years, but not knowing a lot about begonia, you'll have to decide for yourself if it's possible. The only diff. between starting from cuttings is that it's faster than from seed. The caudex bonsai I am familiar with are things like Adenium obesum (Desert Rose), and other types of succulents, or ginseng Ficus.

• alenka
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks for the information, Lucy. When I was reading up on my plant, I saw a few websites recommending it as a bonsai plant, but I guess it's simply because it sort of looks like a small tree. It certainly makes more sense what you said, that bonsai is about growing regular-sized trees small. After your reply, I'm thinking I'm probably better off asking these questions over in the succulents forum. Somehow all those "bonsai" mentions I saw online got me off track :)

Oh, and I think Desert Rose, Adenium obesum, was the plant that I read about, that it doesn't form a nice caudex when grown from a cutting -- that's why I started wondering if maybe that would be true about the begonia. Well, worst case I'll just have to try and see :)