Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
walter1996

Starting with bonsai

walter1996
14 years ago

Hi everyone. I am new to bonsai and have got my first plant. I believe that it is a ficus bonsai that I got from walmart. It came in a plastic container with gravel glued to the top in a layer. It does have some holes in it so water can get through, but should I try to get rid of the glued gravel layer? Also do I need to buy a set of special bonsai tools? They seem really expensive and I already have a good pair of shears and a spray bottle. I would also like to know if I plant my own bonsai do I need to use 100% bonsai soil or some bonsai soil and some potting soil? Please try to awnser my questions and give me any tips that you will be willing to share. :)

Comments (9)

• moyogijohn
    14 years ago

Walter take a case knife pry the glued rock off first thing so the roots can breath.. what ficus did you get?? i have seen 2 kinds there ginsing and microfolia.. you need small sissers pointed to trim with. wire plires that cut at the end. only bonsai tool you need to start with are concave cutters to remove branches leaving ahollow like place to heal over good..watch your water well not too much just moist.re pot whenyou can free draining soil.hope this helps john

• nbbblair
    14 years ago

I have found that for my ficus retusa bonsai, Miracle Grow soil has been fantastic. The original soil it came with started to lose its nutrients I think, so I wanted something with fertilizer in it. My tree has done very well since I re-potted with it.
    Also, I agree with the above comment, in that you should get rid of those rocks as soon as possible. You will then be able to tell when your soil has dried out enough before each watering.
    Good luck with your tree!

Here is a link that might be useful: Ficus Bonsai

• head_cutter
    14 years ago