Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
manbird1

pinus sylvestris pre-bonsai

manbird1
13 years ago

whats up people? newb here with some basic questions....

So i bought this dwarf scotch pine last year and need some input on what to do as far as styling goes. I know its a long process but I was thinking the tree would be suited well for an informal upright tree. I havent really mucked with it too much. A light needle plucking here and there and I removed two branches...One low branch, hardly an inch above the soil line and on the inside of the bend in the trunk, and one on the back side...almost as low as the former. I look at this tree and have a hard time knowing where to start. Do i just let it continue to grow and see what happens or do i begin to style now? Like i said, Im new to bonsai and could really use some expert advice on where to go as far as styling. ive pretty much focused my effforts on keeping it alive and paying attention to the way it grows.

thanks

http://s929.photobucket.com/albums/ad137/manbird1/?action=view&current=IMG_0206.jpg

Comments (10)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    13 years ago

Your doesn't work at the moment.

Josh

• larke
    13 years ago

Hi - it's too bad you cut that lowest branch - it would have been very useful in thickening the lower trunk. Even when such branches (lowest) don't fit in with your final design, they're left on until then and only cut off when you're happy with the trunk, which is why they're called sacrifice branches (for future ref. :-).
    I'm going to send you to www.evergreengardenworks.com to learn all about conifers and what to do with which ones when (during the year), as it's the best place I know of to do it. Also try to find a local club because they're great for the same reason. Don't do any more to it now (I'll presume you have it outdoors for life) until you have a better idea of what's what. Good luck.

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    13 years ago