Return to the Bonsai Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Repotting bonsai out of season

Posted by Gardening_Kiwi UK (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 26, 05 at 6:34

Hello all

I am new to bonsai and have a problem with my Zelkova. I think that it needs repotting as there are lots of little fine thread-like roots coming up from the soil. It only has about 10% leaves on it at the moment but new ones are still appearing. I suspect my poor watering technique is to blame - I must do better. It is late summer here so not really the time to repot but it looks in such poor condition that i'm not sure which will be the worst option; repotting out of season or leaving it for another few months. I'd be grateful for some advice.

Many thanks

Gardening Kiwi

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Repotting bonsai out of season

• Posted by Lucy 5b NE (My Page) on
    Fri, Aug 26, 05 at 21:46

Can you just literally lift the whole thing out of its pot in one piece, very gently bring down the worst of the 'up' roots, and get it into a slightly larger pot just tamping new fast draining soil around the rootball for now and doing nothing else at all til spring? Best to wait til Oct/Nov. even for that though.

o

We had a storm that broke some of my bonsai pots so I had to repot them in the worst of summer. So far so good, I haven't lot one yet. Zack

o

• Posted by TimZ8 Louisiana (My Page) on
    Sat, Aug 27, 05 at 9:22

As long as you're not cutting roots it would be OK with the proper recover period and method. Keep them out of full sun for about a month. I had to repot a failing san jose juniper about 6 weeks ago in 100 degree heat and it has put out lots of new growth.

o