Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bukaleeper

Beginner in dire need of Bonsai help

bukaleeper
9 years ago

I am a beginner to gardening and made the rookie mistake of getting two Bonsai Trees from the lovely store of Walmart. I have recently read online that this was not a smart thing to do. The first Bonsai I bought, Bonnie, I have had for about over a month. (I am pretty sure that she is a Ficus.) I personally think that she is doing just fine. After a month of having Bonnie, I got another Bonsai a couple days ago and named him Clyde. (I believe that he is a Schefflera.) I recently read that the glued on rocks are critical to remove from Walmart bonsais, so about an hour ago I removed the rocks from both. I think that Bonnie is doing fine, but Clyde is in dire need of help. When I removed the rocks I noticed that Clyde was terribly over-watered and also had white insects crawling in his dirt. I have researched and believe them to be mealy bugs. Will applying rubbing alcohol get rid of them? If so, how will I go about doing this? I have no idea what I am doing! I have attached pictures of both Bonnie and Clyde in case there are problems I have not noticed. Are the pots and soil okay? Please help and thanks for reading.

Album of Pictures: http://s1000.photobucket.com/user/bukaleeper/library/Mobile%20Uploads

Bonnie: Bigger ficus bonsai
Clyde: Smaller schefflera bonsai

Comments (6)

• moochinka
    9 years ago

Can you please post the pix on the forum's gallery? Would help us to see them...