Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clint_stevens

bonsai identification-southern mississippi

clint.stevens
15 years ago

i am really new to bonsai, in march of 08 i went into a forest near my house lookin for something i could start out with, i found this tree that looked pretty sad and boring, with no taper or anything that looked like it would be a good bonsai other than the leaf size was really small, and i liked that. so i pulled it up and stuck it in a little pot, i have been messing with it and cutting it down and stuff for a while. i know i am supposed to wait til winter to do any heavy pruning but i am new to this and i was being impatient. now i have it cut down to about 4 inches and its throwing out shoots like crazy, but the only problem is that i have no idea what kind of tree it is, and i think by knowing what kind of tree it is i can better find out how to take care of it and what zones it will live in. but hopefully someone can help me with this. here are some pictures

{{gwi:16266}}

this is what it looked like when i first got it.

{{gwi:16267}}

this is my tree as of right now.

{{gwi:16268}}

here is a close up on a stem.

any help is appreciated, thanks!!

clint

Comments (9)

• lucy
    15 years ago