Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thams_gw

New Bougainvillea Bonsai -- bad soil?

thams
11 years ago

Hi All,

I purchased a Purple Carpet variety Bougainvillea bonsai from a reputable nursery today. I'm really pleased with the tree and think it will make an awesome specimen for years to come.

Question: can someone tell me if it looks as though the soil is too compact? It's definitely bonsai soil, but it's so tamped down that I can even push my finger in.

Should I repot it now in better soil or should I wait for the spring to attempt this? I know the roots can be very sensitive, so I wouldn't be pruning them at all unless some are dead. I would be placing it back in the same pot.

I'll post a follow up with a picture of the actual tree.

Thanks!

Comments (19)

• thams
    Original Author
    11 years ago

It's about 20" high including the pot.

• hookilau
    11 years ago

I could be wrong as I'm very new to Bonsai, but could it be that what you're feeling is a combination of dense feeder roots, moss & the soil-less mix? Your tree looks like it's been in the pot for a good while, that would be my best guess. As long as it drains well, it should be fine =) Cool tree btw!

Antoinette

• thams
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Antoinette,

I think you might be right. I'm telling myself that I shouldn't repot it yet since I don't know the tree's "habits" -- plus I've read that these should only be repotted in the height of summer.

Here is a picture of the pot cleaned up (i.e. no moss, large pebbles, dead leaves, etc.) Looks a little better. I do think the pot is dense with feeder roots, which in the long term is a good thing for sure.

• DesertPanda
    11 years ago