Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rwood24_gw

Please help me new to bonsai Hokkaido

rwood24
13 years ago

Ok I've got a 6year old Chinese elm Hokkaido bonsai tree tag says. I'm totally new to this thing just thought it looked so cool! Well I kept it inside first week til yesterday too her outside wow big mistake I was told they do best outside btw. So I put it in part shade. Leaves got crispy and started to fall off. Today I moved it in more shaddy location the leaves turned a weird color like not yellow but brownish green. Not the color they were intially. I've not used any chemicals fertilizers or anything just well water that I know is good as I water all my delicate orchids with this water! I really hope I didn't kill this tree! Will it regrow leaves? The branches are stale and snapping. I water about every day. Stick my finger 3/4 inch in soil to see if it's damp then I choose water or not. I've grown soo many hard to grow plants thought this would be a cake walk as it's labeled a beginners bonsai. Please help me. Hopefully your advice can steer me right. I've got 3 more conning and don't want to kill em!

Comments (6)

• simsedward
    13 years ago

Hard to say for sure, but if you are watering every day that is probably way too often. Depending on the size of the pot/roots, most of my indoor elms go 3-5 days between waterings. Also, make sure it is potted in proper bonsai soil to allow for drainage. If it is in potting soil, get it out of that stuff.
    Soil mixture and watering are key.

• rwood24
    Original Author
    13 years ago