Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
planecrazy29

Ficus Bonsai Rescue

planecrazy29
13 years ago

I rescued this ficus bonsai from someone who has had it for 15 years, but had neglected it recently. It desperately needs to be repotted and most of the foliage is gone. My question is, do I dare root prune and re-pot it now or try to nurse it through to spring? It's pretty sad looking, but on close inspection I do see some new buds forming. I'm still very new to Bonsai and I'd hate to kill it. It's currently out doors in a screen porch under flourscent grow lights. I will be switching it to indoor under lights soon as the nights are cooling off rapidly here.

{{gwi:18269}}

Comments (3)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    13 years ago

I wouldn't repot it now (unless you have good supplemental lighting & a warm spot), but I would scrap the bonsai pot (or use one considerably larger) and pot up. The tree is already seriously stressed and going into winter in a weakened state, so it won't tolerate a lot of work. Hopefully, with good light and warm temperatures, you can coax it through the winter and get it outdoors in the early summer so it can store a little energy and be able to tolerate root work in Jun and you can start chasing foliage back closer to the trunk in Jul/Aug.