Return to the Bonsai Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help with my Chinese Elm Please!

Posted by EricGio none (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 4, 13 at 21:02

Hello,

I'm new to owning a bonsaii tree. I know a lot of people will complain because a chinese elm bonsaii is my first ever plant that I've owned. But I've read up on it a lot online and have been trying to keep it taken care of like they say.

So...I've had it for about 3 weeks. I got some new small leaf buds growing, it looked healthy, and everything was fine. I was keeping it indoors with good direct sunlight, carefully watering it and not overwatering....

Then a few days ago some of the leaves started to change color - dark on the ends - not falling off - just getting dark on the ends. One changed to yellow. They're not dry just dark. I did get concerned so I'm keeping it outside now on my porch which is East facing.

Could you please take a look at the pictures of the leaves and tell me what you think the problem is? Thank you!

http://s944.photobucket.com/user/EricGio871/media/photo_zps93b42af5.jpg.html

-Eric

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help with my Chinese Elm Please!

Having trouble viewing the photo bud, but yellow leaves on an Elm are usually indicative of too much water.

o

Thank you. Not sure how to get the picture to work. There seems to have only been one leaf that turned yellow, a lot of them are turning dark on the ends - they look like these:

http://s944.photobucket.com/user/EricGio871/media/photo_zps93b42af5.jp g.html

except a little more dried out on the ends. That probably indicates under-watering when they're like this too right?

o

When leaves of just about any plant go dark (along with twigs and sometimes trunk) it's overwatering or a fungus brought on by overwatering. It's not so much the amount you give it (all the roots need some so sprinkling the top won't do it), but the time you leave between waterings that's important, plus the sun it gets, time of year, and soil mix.

o