Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
verlow

Chinese Elm Bonsai help

verlow
10 years ago

Hi,

I'll start like many others seeking help here by saying that I'm new to owning a bonsai, but I've spent a lot of time reading up on it. After about a week of struggle I've decided to turn for help.

I recently purchased a Chinese Elm bonsai off of an amazon vendor (which was probably a big mistake) and it arrived infested with pests. Right as I opened up the packaging I spotted a white grub and another slimmer brown grub-like insect. I killed the white one right then and the brown one at a later time (though no guarantee it was the same one). In the soil I also noticed small winged insects.

The leaves of the tree had some obvious issues from the start, which I attributed to the grubs - some leaves looked like they were cut, others had straight trails on them (images below show this).

{{gwi:18549}}
{{gwi:18550}}

I ran over to home depot and got some insecticide soap and showered the tree with it. I also plucked out most of the leaves that seemed to be affected (I noticed that the cut leaves would dry up after a day or two). As I was going through and defoliating my tree, I also noticed that some (small fraction, at the time) of the leaves had small black spots on them and seemed to be drying out as well. I also removed those.

{{gwi:18551}}

It's been a few days since then and upon inspecting my tree closely today, I found that the black-spottedness has spread a great deal. Upon some research, I figured it's the black spot fungus. Though there are also some leaves with whitish spots; which makes me think I might have spider mites...

{{gwi:18552}}

Here is a picture of my tree as it is right now:
{{gwi:18553}}
There is a fair deal of new growth, though I might have overwatered it recently - some of the leaves are getting droopy.

At this point I'm not sure what to do. I'm considering repotting it or defoliating it further and applying some fungicide or both.