Return to the Bonsai Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Juniper? Cutting Propagation

Posted by syphax PA (My Page) on
Sun, Sep 17, 06 at 22:50

I'm new to growing Bonsai (I've started roughly one month ago with a "The Mini Bonsai Kit" my father gave me. All four seeds sprouted and three are still alive),and I have a question that hopefully hasn't already been asked. I've searched the site and haven't found anything; I apologize if this has been asked. There are small Juniper shrubs growing in from of one of the building at my college, (at least I think they are Juniper). I cut off a small branch three weeks ago and placed it in water and set it in the eastern window, which is the only window I have in my apartment. So far the water is going down, but that could be from evaporation, the two main stems, the cutting is a 'Y' shape, seem to be becoming more brown and the newest needles don't seem to be opening. But there appears to be new, green growth at certain places along the stem, closer to the water than to the top. I've cut off very small pieces and they still retain their strong pine scent. Am I just fooling myself into thinking this thing will survive or does it have a chance until Thanksgiving when I can take it back home?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Juniper? Cutting Propagation

• Posted by rjj1 Norman OK Zone7 (My Page) on
    Mon, Sep 18, 06 at 5:23

I've not heard of junipers rooting in water. I rooted a few years ago with a strong rooting hormone in a good soil mix.

randy

o