Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardener_guy

Large Ficus: Winter Fertilizer?

gardener_guy
13 years ago

Hi,

Since Ficus trees are tropical trees they need warmth from winter cold. I am in zone 6b so they definitely need warmth. I have a greenhouse that I plan to house all my tropical trees in. Do Ficus have a "dormancy period" (so to speak) even though they are tropical? When I had them in my basement (67ðF) under many high-powered florescent lights they seemed to slow down growth. They will be in a greenhouse this winter not the basement.

I plan to keep the greenhouse warm (heated). Should I feed fertilizer and water as if nothing changes?

I am a first time greenhouse grower. I know basically nothing on greenhouses now. I am a horticulture student and soon I may learn some great info on greenhouse management. But until then I need some advice.

Thank you,

Gardener Guy

Comments (4)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    13 years ago

To give specific advice, anyone will need to either make assumptions or ask for more information. E.g., can we assume you're using an appropriate bonsai soil that holds little perched water, drains well and is well-aerated; or, are your plants in something like MG bagged soil?

It makes very good sense to link your nutritional supplementation to your watering frequency. If you were fertilizing at a low dose every 3rd or 4th time you watered, your soil drains well, and you're watering so at least 10-15% of the total volume of water applied exits the drain every time you water, you can probably continue that regimen, or lighten up on it just a little. The reason is, plants will use less water when they are not growing robustly, so you will actually be applying fertilizer less frequently, which means they will be getting less.