Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mawehe63

will these juniper cuttings be successful?

mawehe63
14 years ago

okay this is my first time trying to post pictures so it may take a few tries anyway i took these cuttings from a juniper bush at my friends church i dont know the exact type of juniper but i think they are precumbens nana. i kept them in water for a day becuase i didnt have anysoil so i went to walmart and bought a bag of sphagnum peat moss and a bag of perlite i mixed some in a plastic cup that i punched a hole in the bottom and planted the three heel cuttings they are about three inches long i didnt have any rooting hormone so will they still root?

Here is a link that might be useful: the pictures

Comments (5)

• head_cutter
    14 years ago

For most evergreen cuttings to be successful they should be taken in the spring when they are activly growing. A rooting hormone should be used, they need a moderate amount of humidity and, in the case of growing indoors, bottom heat helps a lot. Probably not but you never know, you may get lucky. Before you waste too much time I'd suggest reading up on how to propagate from cuttings---or---go buy a few in one gallon containers.

Bob

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    14 years ago

You should list your state and zone in your user info. It helps those who would like to offer suggestions or observations.