Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shawn_bonsai

Picea Glauca Conica - Beginner Bonsai Questions

shawn_bonsai
16 years ago

Greetings all,

This is my first post and am hoping you'll be able to offer me some guidance. I am new to the Bonsai art...have a couple indoor starters that I've managed to keep alive for some months and I have read about a dozen books. Finally, I've decided to create a couple outdoor bonsai trees from nursery material I acqured a week ago - two Picea Glauca Conica trees in two gallon plastic pots. They are 12-15" inches in height and have a 1" diameter trunk at its base. Both have nice surface roots, one is a formal upright candidate, the other a myogi candidate.

What I need help with is advice on the best way to proceed given my circumstances. My numerous books seem to offer conflicting opinions and I am at a loss. So please, help!

I live in Zone 6 (Northern Kentucky) and since it is still early Autumn, I wonder whether I should repot by slipping them into training pots (no pruning); go ahead and root prune, shape, repot in a bonsai pot, and wire; or put into the ground for the winter and move to a pot in the Spring. Or do you have another idea that might be best.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give me.

Comments (7)

• lucy
    16 years ago

Well, I hate to say it, but blue spruce do not make great bonsai. They won't behave well under training and may play some tricks that you won't like. However, you have the trees (unless you can return them for something else?) so I suggest you either just plant them in the ground or training pots, leave everything else alone til late winter and do a lot more reading, starting with www.evergreengardenworks.com.

• shawn_bonsai
    Original Author
    16 years ago