Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jmcat_gw

Thinking of Starting Bonsai; Some Questions.

jmcat
16 years ago

I am new to bonsai, and am interested in growing one. I am thinking of doing a sweet cherry (seed from cherries formerly consumed), and have some questions. For starters, when should I plant this seed? Would it work to put more than one tree in a pot (maybe 3 or so)? Obviously this tree will be kept outside, as I believe it is temperate. In that case, will the seeds need to be cold treated? If so, for how long? Should I just keep them in the freezer for a period, or do I need to plant them outside this year? I have also heard of cracking a seed like that, and just planting the inside. Should I do this?

I have not decided what I want the finished bonsai to look like yet, but I figure that I can probably start the seed before I decide.

I guess I'll also need to find a bonsai pot at some point before I start shaping the tree. Does anyone know where I could find one to buy? Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks,

-Jmcat

p.s.: What are common sizes (heights) that work for a bonsai? To be specific, how small can they be made (I would probably want it to be under or close to 1')?

Comments (11)

• lucy
    16 years ago