Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andoeire

Dying Bonsai, dont know what to do

andoeire
11 years ago

hi, I received this Bonsai as a gift (See picture attached). It had lovely small green leaves when I received it, the instructions were not great to be honest. Feed with minimul plant food, never let soil be dry, water once a week in a sink, let the soil/plant soak up some water for a few mins and then take it out. The pot has a hole at the bottom to let excess water out. Sorry if I sound amatuer, but thats what I am! Never owned a plant before but I would like to try get this bonsai back to life if possible. I'm not even sure what type of bonsai it is as it wasnt on the packaging... Any help appreciated

Comments (6)

• hookilau
    11 years ago

I could swear I replied to this post earlier today, don't know where it's gone to, Oh well 0_o. Take II

Let me preface this post with the disclaimer that I am a beginner just like you, mk?

From the leaf, it looks like a Beech but I could be wrong. Hopefully someone else will chime in here. Providing the following information, you'll likely get the information you need from one of the more experienced people on here.

How long have you had this tree?
    Have you kept him indoors or out? If indoors, what is his lighting situation?
    What kind of medium is in the pot?
    What is your zone or climate?
    Does water run freely from the pot if watered from above?

I think that ought to do it.

Antoinette

• andoeire
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hi there!

Hope this helps:

Ive had this tree about 6 months
    Its kept indoors and out of direct sunlight at all times (Said it on the box)
    I'm in north western europe, temperature varies but generally on average (this time of year) it is in the mid teens (12 degress celcius or 53 degrees farenheit) and getting cooler each day as winter sets in