Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ryanbonsai

freezing Temp

ryanbonsai
14 years ago

Hi i have a juniper bonsai and put him outside for dormancy

canada here has the lowest Temp in winter about -10C (15F)

but an expert i know told me that it should be fine even if the temp goes extreme cold if juniper is placed in a closed box or somehitng

i have three questions...

1) during the extreme cold temp, is it OK for juniper to get NO sunlight?(for about 2-3weeks i think)...iam thinking about putting him inside a box and place the box outside

3) do i water it during the dormancy? do i water it during the extreme cold period?(-10C , 15F)

2) if i water it during that time, the water is going to freeze...so the soil is going to get frozen too,,,is it safe for juniper's root?

please help me~~~~~~

Comments (4)

• treebarb Z5 Denver
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Ryan, I am a total newbie with just one bonsai. I asked the same question about a month ago, go to the search box and type overwintering juniper to see the response I got. What I've gathered is that while junipers don't go completely dormant, they do slow down considerably in the winter. In their native environment the cold temps allow them to have a down period naturally. If you keep them indoors, you are skipping that step for them. I got away with keeping mine indoors last winter, but it's not recommended. A few weeks ago I buried mine in its pot 5 or 6 inches deep, with just the top few inches of tree peeking out of the soil. I've put chunks of snow around the exposed branches and when that dries up, I'll water a little. I want to be careful not to overwater and crate an ice ball in the roots, just enough to provide some moisture to the roots. I hope this helps. I know you'll get really good info here.
    Barb

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    14 years ago

1) yes

2) yes, never let the soil go completely dry; neither, do you want it to be excessively wet.