Return to the Bonsai Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Brown Needles on my Juniper Procumbens nana

Posted by vrejb Los Angeles, CA (My Page) on
Mon, Nov 12, 07 at 13:37

The needles on my tree that are closest to the branches/trunk are dead and brown (but still on the tree). I found a thread from another forum (not bonsai) that said the needles on the inside die off and new growth is found on the outside. Does this apply to my tree as well? And another bit of info is that I'm not sure whether the browning is recent, or I just discovered it. I've only had the plan for a few weeks and hadn't looked at all parts of the plant closely till today.

I'm a total novice here, but I live in Los Angeles, Keep my tree away from any artificial air, lives on my windowsill and gets a few hours of sunlight a day, and I only close my window at night when I sleep. If the tree is dying I'd rather give it away than watch it die slowly, any opinions?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Brown Needles on my Juniper Procumbens nana