Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brettc2009

first bonsai using a cutting(project1)

brettc2009
14 years ago

Hi all!! Im new to this site and just thought IÂd like to share a photo or two of my first attempts in the art of bonsai growing also hope to get some input and advise

{{gwi:21710}}

started from a cutting

Now I am trying to shape the trunk using string and elastic bands before the trunk becomes more difficult to train any advice or comments are most welcome as said before I am new to bonsai growing and am open to and appreciate envy helpful comments. I have a few questions. Due to the plant being quite small what would be the best thing to do to the plant during the growing season (spring and summer) allow it to grow naturally? Focus growth to the trunk or focus growth to the leaves?

Comments (8)

• Jack Reynolds
    14 years ago

OK, you have a Ficus benjamina cutting that you want to make into a bonsai. The first thing you should do is get a book on Ficus bonsai by Jerry Meislik. You can order it from his website: www.bonsaihunk.8m.com. The price is reasonable. Then I would find a bonsai club in your area by Googling something like "bonsai clubs". If you are in CA go to the Golden State Bonsai Federation website. They have a listing of almost all the clubs in CA with contact info.
    In order to control the shape of your tree you will need to wire it. The book and advice from experienced people will help you there. Until you can do that I would just grow the tree as if it were not a bonsai. It needs trunk development so let it go "wild" for a year or two to get some size to the trunk. Don't cut anything just feed and water it. Good luck, Jack

• brettc2009
    Original Author
    14 years ago