Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
liz3099

BanYan might be dead help!

liz3099
9 years ago

Hi all! I am new to owning a bonsai tree. My sister bought it for me for my birthday in July. It was doing really well with me watering it every week like the seller said. I got stuck working in our city office and it went about 3 weeks with out proper water. The waller branches are still dark green however the lower branches have all lost their leaves. I'm not sure what to do? Do I cut off the dead branches? Do I just keep watering it (I have been able to pick it up and bring it home so it can get some tlc)?

Any advice would be really helpful!

Liz

Comments (4)

• moochinka
    9 years ago

Oh dear... the perils of gifting 'bonsai' to people who've barely heard the word! Watering once a week like it was a philodendron is not how to go, but the person who sold it to you couldn't have cared less (and obviously knew nothing about bonsai), just collected a paycheck. Don't cut off anything yet - there's always time to do it later and it's not important. Water it thoroughly and give it lots of high light all day long, but water again when e.g. the top inch or so has dried rather than using a schedule. I'd like to tell you a lot more, but you really need to do some research on bonsai - read a lot of things about Ficus and/or tropicals in general, and bonsai - and do spritz your tree at least twice a day with water for humidity. These are very basic generic things, but you need to learn a lot more to understand what's what. If there is a layer of pebbles glued to the soil surface, drizzle warm (not hot) water on it then lift it off (it'll come in pieces) with fingers or big tweezers, etc. But your best bet of all if you want to learn about bonsai (whether or not this tree makes it) is to find a local club and let them help you, teach you, etc. etc. Good luck.

• sanchit
    9 years ago