Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
angellilly

almost there!!!

angellilly
14 years ago

Ok so i went into my local nursery to buy a family friend the traditional pot of poinsettia when i saw tucked in a wall shelf behind orchids and dracaenas this ficus;needless to say the thing looked old(not terrible though considering the fact the soil was bone-dry)and not exactly customer material.But it was cheap so i bought it(out of pity)and brought it home.The little tree is a self made bonsai:

{{gwi:22704}}

and i think is the brittle twig ficus "wiandi"

im a complete novice in bonsais although i have a luma already wired.The tree obviously needs more tapering at the base but what about the overall shape?Any help is appreciated!

cheers Helen

Comments (14)

• larke
    14 years ago

Love to see what you do with it in future! Now go to www.bonsaihunk.us/cultural.html and learn everything else about tropicals and particularly Ficus from the reigning ficus expert out there.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    14 years ago

I wish we had an expert here... : (

Josh

• angellilly
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Well as i said above im a novice but what about windswept style?As you can see most branches lean towards left(or right if you see it the other way).perhaps i can wire the tree's upper half trunk so that it faces the same direction?an illustration:
    {{gwi:22705}}
    What do you think?

• head_cutter
    14 years ago

Helen, from the price tag it looks like you live somewhere in the UK? You have just made a major change in the environment of the ficus, let it adapt before going to town on it. Take some time to look the tree over and try to envision what would make a good design...try to find what should be the 'front' as it will be in the future.

Jerry has quite a few pics on his site and there are a wealth of ficus Bonsai pics on the web. It's a good resource.