Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jmwclemson

Bonsai Tools

jmwclemson
17 years ago

Hi,

I was thinking of getting the wife to get me some Bonsai Tools for Christmas. Since i am relatively new, i cannot figure out what to get, Stainless vs Carbon Steel, 7in vs 9in cutters, etc.

Anyone have any recommendations. Any on Ebay or a mail order dealer.

Although i am new to Bonsai, i have alot of trees i have been growing out, mostly japanese maples. I have over a 1000 seedlings and over 200 grafted cultivars. SO i have the need for nice knob cutters, etc for working with them also. Several of mine in the ground need there roots worked, so i am getting ready to have a need for a good tool set. I would like to go ahead and get most of the tools i will be needing in the future.

Thanks

Mike

Comments (8)

• grog76
    17 years ago

I'm extremely new to bonsai and the place I usually see referenced for tools, advice, and nursery stock(I received some about 2 months ago which was a very nice buy) is www.evergreengardenworks.com.
    I'm new so take the advice for what its worth and wait to hear from one of the more experienced members, just my 2 cents before tax worth.

• botanical_bill
    17 years ago

Check this link out. Its about steels; stainless steel (SS) does not hold sharp edges well, the black carbon steel are the best all around. I have read this in books and other internet sites, so if every one is preaching it, Ill take the advice.
    By Japanese tools, they have better craftsmanship over USA and Chinese tools.

Here is a link that might be useful: Steel tools

• buddaboy
    17 years ago

Gday, If this is any help, three months ago I bought chinese carbon steel tools. I got them from america on ebay( Im in Australia). They work just fine. I do agree that the Japanese tools are better quality than Chinese, but I have kids to feed, clothe, send to school, etc, etc. Its just a matter of deciding what you really need.
    Ron

• jimh
    17 years ago