Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ray_ratliff

Buttonwood Bonsai

ray_ratliff
16 years ago

Hello all, I am brand new to the world of Bonsai & have become interested after seeing a beautiful display of a Buttonwood Tree. I am wondering, can anyone share a few really good links that can help guide me thru the process of selecting, trimming, pinching, wiring, etc. Or if you feel like typing some info & sharing it here, it would be greatly appreciated! I am really interested in creating a buttonwood tree with the stripped away bark & possible putting an orchid or two on it in the years to come. Thanks for any links/ advice that you can offer!!

Comments (18)

• lucy
    16 years ago

Wow, how exotic (never heard of orchids being incorporated as part of a bonsai before). I strongly suggest you first (before putting out money) find a club to join as it's the best way to learn, and start reading about bonsai, go to www.bonsai4me.com, www.bonsaihunk.us/cultural.html, and www.evergreengardenworks.com for a general overview of various aspects of growing, both indoor and out (indoor bonsai are generally tropicals that while they should be outdoors in summer, can't stay there in winter (tho' it wouldn't matter where you are) - anything else must be out for cold dormancy... it's not negotiable. Buttonwood is certainly used, though I'm not familiar with growing them, but you really need some kind of foundation to start off with, possibly practice on inexpensive nursery shrubs, etc., as there's a lot more to it than the Karate Kid pruning stuff :-)! You need to know about soils, seasons, lighting, watering - a very big deal in bonsai, not at all like for house plants - and other things, plus BW is probably not the best tree for a beginner to start with from all I've heard.

• garyfla_gw
    16 years ago

Hi
    Notice you lived in S. Florida . As you know everything