Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
compostworm5

bald cypress babies

compostworm5
15 years ago

Hey everyone my name is chris and I have a question about the soil I should keep my cypress in. I'M new to bonsai growing, I've seen pictures of a bald cypress growing for 15 years in a pot and fell in love instantly. Whats the best soil I can put together for a healthy tree. I dug thesse up out of a swamp.Thanks for your help everyone

Comments (8)

• lucy
    15 years ago

For now I suggest you go to www.bonsai4me.com and use a standard bonsai mix but make sure it doesn't ever dry out. Have you got them in water now?

• compostworm5
    Original Author
    15 years ago

yes i have them in some water, along with horribly crushed lava rock, chipped up pine bark,dust. I also have a little bit of level sand, nursery blend potting mix ,and organic soil. I was gonna make a new blend consisting of haydite, turface, granate, and pine. Would this work for a cypress, or should I add a little soil into the mix? Also, if I keep a rocky medium, what fertilizer is best recommended for the tree, or any bonsai in the future?

• lucy
    15 years ago