Return to the Bonsai Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to bonsai/New to Florida

Posted by rlugo Fl (My Page) on
Sun, Dec 6, 09 at 20:40

I'm thinking of Bonsai as my new hobby. I know that certain trees fair better in certain areas. I am new to my area and its climate. I just moved from Ohio to Largo Florida. I'm wondering what trees might be good for me to start with in this climate?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to bonsai/New to Florida

I recommend Ficus microcarpa, Ficus salicifolia, and bald cypress (Taxodium distichum). They are well adapted to the climate of Florida and readily available. You should also join a bonsai club. You can find one on the internet I'm sure by going to the websites of The American Bonsai Society or Bonsai Clubs International or just Google "bonsai clubs". Membership in a club will get you up that old learning curve much faster. Good luck, Jack

o

Thanks Jack, I will look into it.

o

I've been getting a few Ficus microcarpa from Home Depot that could fit into six inch pots but I've put them into ten inch pots because I want them to get the big fat roots . I read they are slow growing . Do you have any suggestions on how to get the roots bigger ? Or I'll just have to wait 5 or 8 yrs and take it out of the pot ? What is your suggestion on getting the big fat roots on a ficus ?

o

If you want big roots you must let the top of the tree go wild. The roots get their nourishment from the leaves. More leaves mean bigger roots. So you must fertilize, and water your tree for the most growth. The larger pot will help also. Happy growing. Jack

o

Rlugo,
how about a Desert Rose (Adenium)? From a seedling, they develop a nice, fat caudex.
From a cutting, the roots intertwine to eventually produce a massively-twisted rootflare.
In Florida, Desert Rose will flower most of the year, and it also responds well to pruning.

Josh

o