Return to the Bulbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
WANTED: How do you pack bare root plants or bulbs for shipping?

Posted by natalie4b 8 GA (My Page) on
Mon, Feb 2, 09 at 7:01

Hello,
I am new to this and would like to offer some of the bulbs and bare root plants from my garden for trade.
I want to make sure I pack them correctly and they arrive healthy.
Any tips would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you,
Natalie

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: WANTED: How do you pack bare root plants or bulbs for shippi

Natalie, I can tell you how I pack them to ship. Email me with your 'have' list and also your 'wish' list - I need some bulbs!

To ship bulbs:

Dig bulbs and wash all the soil off the bulb/roots, then let dry over night.

Get some newspaper and wrap each bulb individually.

LABEL the bulbs, using masking tape, which will also help hold the newspaper on.

Place them in the box and use wadded up newspaper to fill in the spaces, so the bulbs don't roll around and get bruised.

Secure the bulbs and newspaper with masking tape for further secure travel.

Make labels for your box, use strapping tape to secure the box, take it to the post office and GET A GUARANTEE of delivery, so you don't get stiffed!

EMAIL the recipient and let them know when you mail them, so they can be looking for the box. Ask THEM to email you when they get the box.

o
RE: WANTED: How do you pack bare root plants or bulbs for shippi

Thank you so much kayjones for the packing instructions.
I will know what bulbs I will have for trade or SASBE this Spring.
Will post on my account then.
Thanks again for the great tips!
~Natalie

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!