Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ourfamilygarden

Daffodils and Tulips

ourfamilygarden
13 years ago

Hi. My Mom bought me daffodil and Tulip Bulbs for Christmas. It was really thoughtful of her. She doesn't garden with bulbs (I'm a real novice, myself), and she didn't realize they needed to be planted back in the fall.

Is there some way I can plant these in early Spring for them to still come up sometime in Spring?

Thanks.

Comments (8)

• hostalover360
    13 years ago

Hello, There is still a chance to get them to grow, and possibly even bloom for this next season. I've bought late season bulbs from Walmart in the past in February due to very good pricing this is what I did

I planted them in plastic cups ( 3 bulbs per cup) and I stuck them in the fridge for the remaining winter months. It does not necessarily have to be a fridge, but it has to be a cool and dark place that is above 32.F. The purpose of this is to allow the bulbs to get roots and what promotes that is these conditions. Then in spring, you can plant them in the ground, but I would at least give them 12 weeks in the fridge or cool place, that means if you planted them now, they should ok to plant in the ground the second week of April.

When I did this with my bulbs I had lots of blooms the following spring, but I did notice they were much later then local ones but they bloomed. One you plant them you should leave them in the ground to flower next year to gain strength.

Others may have different ideas but this is what I would do.

• ourfamilygarden
    Original Author
    13 years ago

That would only make them flower for next Spring, then, and not this Spring (2011)? I was hoping I could get them to bloom for this Spring.

12 weeks in the fridge would mean I wouldn't put them in the ground until the end of April. We still get frost here in April, sometimes (I'm on LI).