Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ninebulan

bridal crown

ninebulan
15 years ago

hi,

one of my aunt gave us a pot of bridal crown narcissus as a gift for CNY. the base looks like a couple of onions and the flowers are so pretty i'd like to grow it... or at least have them as long as possible...

is there a chance this plant will survive in Jakarta, where the weather can reach up to 30 celcius? do i need to move them to a bigger pot? is it okay if i seperate the bulbus?

i found from the net that this is a perennial plant and is grown from bulbs. the problem is that i have zero experience with bulbs. i need anyone who can teach me how to grow things from bulbs....

errr... where does bulb come from? and .... what should i do after it blooms? i don't really know what to ask... i'm just....

cheerz,

Ka

Comments (2)

• ontnative
    15 years ago

Bridal Crown is often forced for pot culture here, but it should be alright if you plant it in your garden. I think it is one variety that doesn't need a cold period in winter in order to bloom again in the spring. It can be planted in US Zone 9, e.g. Florida or California. Our summer temp.(near Toronto, Canada) also goes up to 30 celcius, but it may go down to minus 25 celcius in the winter, too. Plants that have been forced for indoor bloom don't always bloom very well for a couple of years afterwards, until the bulbs have built up their energy again. The bulbs can be separated if you wish before planting, but don't expect flowers from the smallest bulbs until they grow larger. Fertilize them once in a while, too.

Here is a link that might be useful: Narcissus Bridal Crown

• vetivert8
    15 years ago

If your bulbs are flowering now then they might have been imported from Europe. Southern Hemiphere flowering time/s are from July onward.