Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tugbrethil

Landscape Gladiolus?

tugbrethil
14 years ago

Just what is the difference between "Landscape Gladiolus" and other types of Gladiolus? Are there differences in planting and culture? Any info welcome!

Kevin : )

Comments (12)

• jewelbeetle
    14 years ago

I think it means they are shorter but I am not an expert on them, never grew them. Maybe I should now I have more sun. They are not for my zone and I dont feel like digging those up, or letting them die cause they are very pretty.

• tugbrethil
    Original Author
    14 years ago

The box did say they were on the short side. It also was supposed to stay in the ground, and not be dug up every year. I was unclear in my mind if that meant that they were more frost hardy than most, or if they were better than most at surviving heat and moisture in the summer.

Anyone else got ideas?

• vetivert8
    14 years ago

It's not a term I know. I'm wondering if they're what I would call G. 'Nanus' or painted ladies. They usually arrive after the main daffodils for me and sometimes overlap with G. tristis.

In zone 9 they are safe to leave in the ground but may need refreshing after three years. The bulbs aren't large. They seldom produce spawn.

Experiment with the soil. I've found they do well with not much feeding but mostly they prefer a free-draining soil rather than anything that gets water-logged. About six hours of sun.

They've usually died down by the time full summer comes in.

Also, just as with Narcissus, you can often get bulk quantities of unnamed varieties for general planting. They aren't as lush or exotic as the show varieties but they do usefully fill patches in the back of the borders or the cutting bed for filling vases. They are likely to need stem support.