Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joshua2415_gw

Bulb crowding?

joshua2415
14 years ago

This is my first post on this website, so bear with me if this is answered somewhere else in the forum. Can bulbs that bloom at different times be planted close to each other? Will they fight each other for the nutrients in the soil? If they can be planted together, how close can they be? Right now I have tulips blooming, but I thought about planting some other flowers (daylilies or some other periennel) in the same bed so that when the tulips are done, another flower takes over. I'm relatively new to gardening, so when my tulips started coming up, I got motivated to plant some more stuff! Thanks in advance for all the inputs I receive. I'm sure I'll have more questions for the seasoned veterans of gardening. Thanks again.

Comments (7)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    14 years ago

Crowding situations typically arise with bulbs that naturalize freely but only after a sufficient period of time for them to multiply. So I guess the simple answer to your question is yes, most bulb species can be planted relatively close together without concern :-) Some gardeners even layer various bulbs in the same area to maximize the bloom display over a long period. Bulbs are not heavy feeders - I never fertilize mine - and will not "rob" their neighbors of soil nutrients. And they can be interplanted with other, preferrably shallow rooted, perennials, groundcovers and small shrubs without problems. Many bulb growers like to interplant their spring flowering bulbs with perennials close by so that the developing perennial foliage will hide the old foliage of the bulbs as it ripens and dies back.

• pitimpinai
    14 years ago

I layer my bulbs all the time. I also plant my bulbs among perennials. But daylily root system is very dense. Spring bulbs won't be able to grow through such thick growth and will get crowded out eventually.

• pitimpinai
    14 years ago